Collin County Manslaughter Lawyer Best Criminal Defense

If you or a loved one is facing a manslaughter charge in Collin County, you are likely experiencing a host of emotions: grief, fear, anxiety, confusion, and remorse. You may wonder what the future holds and where you go from here. The first step is finding an experienced Collin County criminal defense lawyer to help you navigate this difficult time.

Manslaughter is a severe charge in Texas that stems from an act that caused the death of another person, but was not premeditated or done with the intent to kill. Manslaughter is often the result of a tragic mistake, which is why these cases are difficult to deal with both emotionally and legally.

Collin County Manslaughter Lawyer Serving Plano, Allen, Frisco, Prosper and Surrounding Areas

In this blog post, the attorneys at Varghese Summersett will explain the offense of manslaughter, the punishment range, and why you need an experienced Collin County manslaughter lawyer on your side.

Collin County Manslaughter

What is manslaughter in Collin County?

Under Texas Penal Code 19.04, a person commits manslaughter if he or she “recklessly causes the death of an individual.” The term “recklessly” is the operative word here. It means that the person didn’t mean to kill the individual, but their actions were so careless that it resulted in death.

Under Texas law, a person acts recklessly if he or she is “aware of but consciously disregards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the circumstances exist or the result will occur.” Additionally, the risk must be so significant that an ordinary person in the same situation or circumstances would have known and understood it.

What are some examples of manslaughter?

Manslaughter charges often stem from unintentional accidents such as:

  • Texting and driving and fatally striking a pedestrian
  • Playing with a gun and accidentally shooting and killing a bystander
  • Injecting drugs into a person who later overdoses
  • Punching someone in the jaw, causing them to fall back and hit their head

What are the penalties for manslaughter in Collin County?

In Texas, manslaughter is a second-degree felony, punishable by two to 20 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine. It is possible to receive probation for manslaughter if you have never before been convicted of a felony. To receive the best outcome possible, it’s imperative to retain an experienced Collin County manslaughter lawyer who has vast experience handling the complex, emotionally-charged cases.

being proactive in criminal defense

What’s the difference between manslaughter and intoxication manslaughter?

Intoxication manslaughter occurs when someone gets behind the wheel while intoxicated and causes a wreck that kills another person. The main difference between the two charges is that intoxication manslaughter requires proof of intoxication, whereas regular manslaughter does not.

Intoxication is defined as having a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or more or not having your normal mental/and or physical faculties due to some intoxicant, which can also be due to illicit or prescription drugs.

Speak to a Collin County manslaughter lawyer today.

If you or someone you love is facing manslaughter charges, it is imperative that you seek out experienced legal counsel as soon as possible. The skilled attorneys at Varghese Summersett have successfully represented individuals charged with manslaughter.

In such serious matters, the right legal representation can make a significant difference in the outcome of your case. At Varghese Summersett, our approach is comprehensive and tailored to the unique circumstances of each case. We meticulously examine every detail, from the events leading to the charge to the investigation procedures used. Our team is well-versed in Texas law and brings a wealth of experience in handling manslaughter cases, ensuring that your rights are vigorously defended throughout the legal process.

We understand the gravity and sensitivity of the situation and will work tirelessly to achieve the best possible outcome for your case. Call us today at (214) 903-4000 to schedule a free consultation with a Collin County criminal defense lawyer.

Tough cases call for the toughest lawyers.

Close Icon