In Texas, there are two classifications of crimes – misdemeanors and felonies. Felonies are more serious than misdemeanors and carry harsher punishments, including higher fines and longer jail sentences. That’s why it’s imperative to seek an experienced Fort Worth defense attorney from the outset if you or a loved one is accused of a crime.
What are felony punishment ranges in Texas?
Texas felonies are categorized into five groups or “degrees” based on the severity of the offense — capital felony, first-degree, second-degree, third-degree and state jail.
- Capital murder is the most serious offense in Texas, punishable by life in prison without parole or the death penalty.
- A first-degree felony is punishable by 5 to 99 years or life in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- A second-degree felony is punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison a maximum $10,000 fine.
- A third-degree felony is punishable by 2 to 10 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
- A state jail felony is punishable by 6 months to 2 years in a state jail facility and a maximum $10,000 fine.
What are Misdemeanor Punishment Ranges in Texas?
Misdemeanor crimes fall into three classifications: Class A, Class B, and Class C. They are punishable by:
- Class A — up to one year in county jail and a maximum $4,000 fine.
- Class B — up to 180 days in county jail and a maximum $2,000 fine.
- Class C — a maximum $500 fine.
If you are charged with a crime, it’s important to understand the range of punishment you are facing. Our seasoned criminal defense attorneys will discuss the direct and indirect consequences of being convicted of a crime. Call us today for a free consultation.