Many people know that a third DWI in Texas is a felony. However, few people realize that, in most cases, it doesn’t matter how far in the past or where the other DWIs occurred. Prosecutors can also use a number of other intoxication-related offenses to enhance your charge.
Take an individual who gets arrested and convicted for a DWI at age 22. Let’s say that person then receives a conviction for boating while intoxicated in Florida at age 47. Now, imagine that at, age 67, that same person is arrested in Texas for suspicion of driving while intoxicated. Prosecutors will use the two prior intoxication-related convictions — even though they are decades old and one was from another state — to charge the individual with DWI Felony Repetition, which is sometimes referred to as “DWI Fel Rep” or “DWI Third or More.”
What is the Punishment Range for a Felony DWI in Fort Worth?
A DWI Felony Repetition charge is a third-degree felony. It carries a punishment range of 2 to 10 years in prison. If a person has been to prison once before (on a DWI or any other charge), the punishment range is enhanced to 2 to 20 years in prison. If the person has been to prison twice before, then they are looking at 5 to 99 years in prison. This is how a fifth DWI can lead to a life sentence.
You will understand then why we are proud to have gone to trial on an allegation of a seventh DWI and knocked so many holes in the State’s case that the accused was given 90 days in-home and the felony charge against him — which could have easily put him away for the rest of his life —was dropped.
That is just one example of the many DWI cases we have handled. Including intoxication manslaughter and intoxication assault cases, we have tried nearly 200 intoxication-related jury trials. Few other Forth Worth DWI Lawyers in the state have tried so many.
We have also successfully avoided prison terms on numerous occasions by getting our clients admitted into the Felony Alcohol Intervention Program or FAIP.
What are Days in Jail as a Condition of Probation for Felony DWI?
It’s important to understand that even a probated sentence for DWI Felony Repetition requires time in jail. The minimum number of days a person must serve in jail for a felony DWI in Texas when the sentence is probated is 10 days in county jail. The maximum number of days a person can serve in county jail as a condition of felony probation is 180 days. It is not uncommon for judges to impose more than the minimum 10 days that is required.
What are Conditions of Probation for DWI Felony Repetition?
If you receive probation for a felony DWI in Texas, you will have to complete the following conditions, and possibly more:
- DWI Repeat Offender Program (DWI ROP)
- Treatment Alternatives to Incarceration Program (TAIP)
- Interlock as a Condition of Probation
- Community Service
- Victim Impact Panel
Can You Get Early Release from Probation for DWI Felony Repetition?
Early release from probation is prohibited for DWI offenses in Texas. However, in some cases, a judge may allow a person to go on non-reporting or pro forma status. If you have completed a majority of your probation term and are interested in early release from probation from a court in Dallas, Tarrant, Johnson, Denton, or Collin County call us.
What is the Statute of Limitations for a Felony DWI?
The Statute of Limitations for a felony DWI is three years in Texas.
What are Bond Conditions for a DWI Third or More?
If you are charged with DWI Felony Repetition in Texas, you should expect the court will require you to have an interlock installed on any vehicle you operate while you are out on bond. You should also expect the judge to add a condition that says you shall not consume alcohol while you are on bond.
What is the Fine in Fort Worth for a DWI Felony Repetition Conviction?
A fine of up to $10,000 can be imposed for a DWI Felony Repetition charge in Texas. This is true for jail sentences and probated sentences.
How are DWI Felony Repetitions Investigated and Prosecuted?
While the punishment range for a DWI Felony Repetition is very different from a first-time DWI, the burden of proof and elements other than the prior are the same as that of a first DWI. For more information on DWI investigations and prosecutions in Texas, don’t miss this article: DWIs in Texas.
Will My License be Suspended for DWI Felony Repetition?
The criminal court judge may suspend your driver license for up to two years if you receive a jail sentence on a DWI Felony Repetition charge in Texas.
Administratively, your license will be suspended for one year if your driving record shows more than one DWI related contact during the last 10 years.
Retain a Fort Worth Third Offense DWI Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with felony DWI, it is imperative to contact a highly skilled DWI lawyer as soon as possible. At Varghese Summersett, we have a prestigious roster of attorneys with a proven record of success defending DWI and intoxication crimes. In some cases, we can find a weakness in the State’s case and obtain a dismissal of charges. In other cases, we might have a legal issue that we can prevail on which could also lead to a dismissal of the charges. While these outcomes are rare, it takes an experienced eye to spot these issues and prevail. As you’ve no doubt realized reading this article, if the State persists in its desire to convict you of a DWI Felony Repetition, the consequences are much worse than if they prosecute you for a misdemeanor DWI. Therefore, we vigorously defend not only the elements of the DWI but also the use of the underlying convictions.
If you have been arrested for a felony-level driving while intoxicated offense, call us today for a free consultation with a Fort Worth third offense DWI lawyer.