Menu

By Benson Varghese

Last Updated: June 3rd, 2020 at 3:22 PM
Published on: June 3rd, 2020 at 3:14 PM

If you have been accused of sexually assaulting a child in Grapevine, your life as you know it is going to change drastically. Your reputation, your career, your family and your freedom are all at stake. That’s why you should contact our office immediately to speak with an attorney who is experienced in handling child sex cases.

Our Grapevine child sexual assault lawyers will review the allegations, explore your legal options and explain the process going forward. We understand the severity of the allegations and the sensitive nature of child sex cases. We have a solid record of success defending sex cases and will work tirelessly to achieve the most favorable outcome possible

What Constitutes Sexual Assault of a Child?

According to Texas Penal Code Section 22.011, a person commit sexual assault of a child if he or she intentionally or knowingly:

  • causes the penetration of the anus or sexual organ of a child by any means;
  • causes the penetration of the mouth of a child by the sexual organ of the actor;
  • causes the sexual organ of a child to contact or penetrate the mouth, anus or sexual organ of another person;
  • causes the anus of a child to contact the mouth, anus or sexual organ of another person, including the actor;
  • causes the mouth of a child to contact the anus of the sexual organ of another person, including the actor

It’s important to point out that there are no circumstances under which a person under the age of 17 may legally consent to sexual contact or intercourse in the state of Texas. This is true even if the alleged victim agreed to the sexual conduct.

It is also important to understand that you can be charged with sexual assault of a child even if you were unaware the alleged victim was a minor.

The moment you learn an allegation involving child sexual abuse is being made, you should contact our Grapevine child sexual assault attorneys. Nothing good can come of waiting.

If the child in under the age of 17 you could face a charge of sexual assault of a child. If the child is under age 14, you face a more serious charge of aggravated sexual assault of a child, or even continuous sexual assault of a child. These charges are extremely serious. The quicker you contact a skilled attorney, the quicker than can start defending you against the allegations.

Potential Penalties for Sexual Assault of a Minor in Grapevine

Sexual assault of a child under age 17 is a second-degree felony offense in Texas punishable by a prison sentence of anywhere from two to 20 years in length, as well as a maximum fine of $10,000.

Aggravated sexual assault of a minor under age 14 is a first-degree felony, punishable by five years to life in prison.

This mandatory minimum sentence is raised to 25 years if the child is under six years of age, or if the actor used a deadly weapon, harmed or threatened to harm the victim or drugged the victim. It is also raised to 25 years if the offense involved someone younger than 14 and occurred on at least two occasions that were at least 30 days apart. Talk to our child sexual assault lawyers in Grapevine as soon as possible if you find yourself facing any charges involving sexual conduct with someone underage. We will fight to protect your future.

Discuss Legal Options with a Grapevine Child Sexual Assault Attorney

State authorities prosecute child sex crimes aggressively and you will need an equally aggressive defense. We can help. Our legal team has vast experience handling child sex cases and will help you pursue the best possible outcome. Call today to schedule your free initial consultation.

Grapevine Child Sexual Assault Lawyer
If you have been accused of sexually assaulting a child in Grapevine, your life as you know it is going to change drastically. Your reputation, your career, your family and your freedom are all at stake. That’s why you should contact our office immediately to speak with an attorney who is experienced in handling child sex cases. Our Grapevine child sexual assault lawyers will review the allegations, explore your legal options and explain the process going forward. We understand the severity of the allegations and the sensitive nature of child sex cases. We have a solid record of success defending sex cases and will work tirelessly to achieve the most favorable outcome possible

What Constitutes Sexual Assault of a Child?

According to Texas Penal Code Section 22.011, a person commit sexual assault of a child if he or she intentionally or knowingly: It’s important to point out that there are no circumstances under which a person under the age of 17 may legally consent to sexual contact or intercourse in the state of Texas. This is true even if the alleged victim agreed to the sexual conduct. It is also important to understand that you can be charged with sexual assault of a child even if you were unaware the alleged victim was a minor. The moment you learn an allegation involving child sexual abuse is being made, you should contact our Grapevine child sexual assault attorneys. Nothing good can come of waiting. If the child in under the age of 17 you could face a charge of sexual assault of a child. If the child is under age 14, you face a more serious charge of aggravated sexual assault of a child, or even continuous sexual assault of a child. These charges are extremely serious. The quicker you contact a skilled attorney, the quicker than can start defending you against the allegations.

Potential Penalties for Sexual Assault of a Minor in Grapevine

Sexual assault of a child under age 17 is a second-degree felony offense in Texas punishable by a prison sentence of anywhere from two to 20 years in length, as well as a maximum fine of $10,000. Aggravated sexual assault of a minor under age 14 is a first-degree felony, punishable by five years to life in prison. This mandatory minimum sentence is raised to 25 years if the child is under six years of age, or if the actor used a deadly weapon, harmed or threatened to harm the victim or drugged the victim. It is also raised to 25 years if the offense involved someone younger than 14 and occurred on at least two occasions that were at least 30 days apart. Talk to our child sexual assault lawyers in Grapevine as soon as possible if you find yourself facing any charges involving sexual conduct with someone underage. We will fight to protect your future.

Discuss Legal Options with a Grapevine Child Sexual Assault Attorney

State authorities prosecute child sex crimes aggressively and you will need an equally aggressive defense. We can help. Our legal team has vast experience handling child sex cases and will help you pursue the best possible outcome. Call today to schedule your free initial consultation.
https://versustexas.com/wp-content/themes/varghesesummer/images/our-team.jpg
2020-06-03T15:22:34-06:00
Varghese Summersett PLLC
Varghese Summersett PLLC