Menu

By Benson Varghese

Published on: April 30th, 2020 at 1:25 PM
Last Updated: June 11th, 2020 at 8:33 PM

Grapevine Sexual Assault Lawyer

Sexual assault is one of the most severe criminal charges that can be brought against someone in Grapevine. It can negatively impact every aspect of your life and damage your reputation. If you have been accused of sexual assault, your first call needs to be to an experienced a Grapevine sexual assault attorney. It is imperative to have our skilled criminal defense attorneys by your side every step of the way to successfully fight a sexual assault charge. Our team of lawyers have years of experience handling these types of cases and will exhaust all resources and explore every avenue in an effort to achieve a favorable outcome.

What is the Difference Between Sexual Assault & Aggravated Sexual Assault?

In Texas, a defendant accused of rape can be charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault.

Under Texas Penal Code Section 22.011, sexual assault occurs when someone intentionally or knowingly engages in sexual intercourse or other sex acts against the other person’s will or consent. The definition of sexual assault encompasses sexual penetration as well as oral sexual acts. On the other hand, aggravated sexual assault is more serious. The sexual assault is “aggravated” if a weapon was displayed or if the victim was severely injured or drugged during the assault. If the alleged victim is elderly or disabled, the offense can also be elevated to aggravated sexual assault.

If you have been charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, time is of the essence. It is in your best interest to retain a sexual assault attorney in Grapevine as soon as possible so they can get to work immediately on your case.

Sexual assault allegations often come down to consent. In some cases, alleged victims regret their actions and later make false allegations. In addition to thoroughly analyzing every aspect of your case, we will enlist the appropriate experts if necessary to examine medical, forensic and video evidence in an effort to show force wasn’t involved.

Determining Consent

There are several factors prosecutors will look at to determine whether there was truly a lack of consent from the alleged sexual assault victim. A Grapevine lawyer can explain the criteria for consent in a sexual assault charge.

What is the Punishment for a Sexual Assault Charge in Grapevine?

In Grapevine, sexual assault is a second-degree felony, punishable to two to 20 years in prison and a maximum fine of up to $10,000. Aggravated sexual assault is  a first-degree felony, punishable by five years to 99 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine. Additionally, an individual convicted of sexual assault will be required to register as a sex offender. That’s why it’s so important to get in front of the charges as quickly as possible by contacting a skilled attorney the moment you are accused of a sex crime.

Contact a Grapevine Sexual Assault Attorney

It bears repeating: your first call should be to a Grapevine sexual assault lawyer if you are facing a sexual assault charge. Our team of attorneys can explain your legal rights and the possible defenses that could apply to your charges. Contact Varghese Summersett today for a free case consultation.

Grapevine Sexual Assault Lawyer

Grapevine Sexual Assault Lawyer

Sexual assault is one of the most severe criminal charges that can be brought against someone in Grapevine. It can negatively impact every aspect of your life and damage your reputation. If you have been accused of sexual assault, your first call needs to be to an experienced a Grapevine sexual assault attorney. It is imperative to have our skilled criminal defense attorneys by your side every step of the way to successfully fight a sexual assault charge. Our team of lawyers have years of experience handling these types of cases and will exhaust all resources and explore every avenue in an effort to achieve a favorable outcome.

What is the Difference Between Sexual Assault & Aggravated Sexual Assault?

In Texas, a defendant accused of rape can be charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault. Under Texas Penal Code Section 22.011, sexual assault occurs when someone intentionally or knowingly engages in sexual intercourse or other sex acts against the other person’s will or consent. The definition of sexual assault encompasses sexual penetration as well as oral sexual acts. On the other hand, aggravated sexual assault is more serious. The sexual assault is “aggravated” if a weapon was displayed or if the victim was severely injured or drugged during the assault. If the alleged victim is elderly or disabled, the offense can also be elevated to aggravated sexual assault. If you have been charged with sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault, time is of the essence. It is in your best interest to retain a sexual assault attorney in Grapevine as soon as possible so they can get to work immediately on your case. Sexual assault allegations often come down to consent. In some cases, alleged victims regret their actions and later make false allegations. In addition to thoroughly analyzing every aspect of your case, we will enlist the appropriate experts if necessary to examine medical, forensic and video evidence in an effort to show force wasn’t involved.

Determining Consent

There are several factors prosecutors will look at to determine whether there was truly a lack of consent from the alleged sexual assault victim. A Grapevine lawyer can explain the criteria for consent in a sexual assault charge.

What is the Punishment for a Sexual Assault Charge in Grapevine?

In Grapevine, sexual assault is a second-degree felony, punishable to two to 20 years in prison and a maximum fine of up to $10,000. Aggravated sexual assault is  a first-degree felony, punishable by five years to 99 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine. Additionally, an individual convicted of sexual assault will be required to register as a sex offender. That’s why it’s so important to get in front of the charges as quickly as possible by contacting a skilled attorney the moment you are accused of a sex crime.

Contact a Grapevine Sexual Assault Attorney

It bears repeating: your first call should be to a Grapevine sexual assault lawyer if you are facing a sexual assault charge. Our team of attorneys can explain your legal rights and the possible defenses that could apply to your charges. Contact Varghese Summersett today for a free case consultation.
https://versustexas.com/wp-content/themes/varghesesummer/images/our-team.jpg
2020-06-11T20:33:02+00:00
Varghese Summersett PLLC
Varghese Summersett PLLC