Menu

By Benson Varghese

Last Updated: October 22nd, 2020 at 8:24 AM
Published on: October 22nd, 2020 at 8:24 AM

How Does Texas Law Define Aggravated Assault?

Aggravated assault is a very serious charge in Texas, but it is also a fairly common one. According to Texas Penal Code Section 22.02, a person commits aggravated assault if he or she:

  • Causes serious bodily injury to another; or
  • Uses or exhibits a deadly weapon during the assault – this also includes threatening a person while holding a weapon

Serious bodily injury is an injury that creates a substantial risk of death, permanent disfigurement or loss of body function.

A deadly weapon is anything that is capable of causing death or serious bodily injury. This includes obvious things such as guns and knives, but it can also include hands, pillows, and scalding water, for example.

If you were recently accused of aggravated assault in Grapevine, it is important to understand how serious this charge is and the consequences of a conviction. Working with a seasoned assault attorney is crucial to achieving a positive outcome to these criminal cases. A qualified member of our legal team can walk you through the charges and help you identify the best course of action to fight your charges in court.

What is the punishment for aggravated assault with a deadly weapon in Grapevine?

Aggravated assault is generally a second-degree felony offense punishable by two to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

However, if the aggravated assault is committed against a security officer, a public servant, a witness in a court case, an intimate partner, or if it involved discharging a firearm out of a vehicle and towards an occupied building or other vehicle the charge can be enhanced to a first-degree felony, punishable by five to 99 years or life in prison.

Get in touch with our firm today to discuss the circumstances of your case with an experienced Grapevine assault attorney and find out what kinds of sanctions you could face if convicted.

Talk to a Grapevine Attorney Today about Aggravated Assault Charges

If you are charged with aggravated assault in Grapevine, it’s critical to reach out to a qualified defense lawyer and start working on your defense strategy as soon as possible. There are a number of potential defenses and approaches we could take, including attacking the credibility of the witness and challenging the charge, specifically whether “serious bodily injury” occurred. Self-defense may also be an option. We have over 100 years of collective experience we can use to fight your case. To set up a free initial consultation, call today.

Aggravated Assault in Grapevine

How Does Texas Law Define Aggravated Assault?

Aggravated assault is a very serious charge in Texas, but it is also a fairly common one. According to Texas Penal Code Section 22.02, a person commits aggravated assault if he or she: Serious bodily injury is an injury that creates a substantial risk of death, permanent disfigurement or loss of body function. A deadly weapon is anything that is capable of causing death or serious bodily injury. This includes obvious things such as guns and knives, but it can also include hands, pillows, and scalding water, for example. If you were recently accused of aggravated assault in Grapevine, it is important to understand how serious this charge is and the consequences of a conviction. Working with a seasoned assault attorney is crucial to achieving a positive outcome to these criminal cases. A qualified member of our legal team can walk you through the charges and help you identify the best course of action to fight your charges in court.

What is the punishment for aggravated assault with a deadly weapon in Grapevine?

Aggravated assault is generally a second-degree felony offense punishable by two to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. However, if the aggravated assault is committed against a security officer, a public servant, a witness in a court case, an intimate partner, or if it involved discharging a firearm out of a vehicle and towards an occupied building or other vehicle the charge can be enhanced to a first-degree felony, punishable by five to 99 years or life in prison. Get in touch with our firm today to discuss the circumstances of your case with an experienced Grapevine assault attorney and find out what kinds of sanctions you could face if convicted.

Talk to a Grapevine Attorney Today about Aggravated Assault Charges

If you are charged with aggravated assault in Grapevine, it’s critical to reach out to a qualified defense lawyer and start working on your defense strategy as soon as possible. There are a number of potential defenses and approaches we could take, including attacking the credibility of the witness and challenging the charge, specifically whether “serious bodily injury” occurred. Self-defense may also be an option. We have over 100 years of collective experience we can use to fight your case. To set up a free initial consultation, call today.
https://versustexas.com/wp-content/themes/varghesesummer/images/our-team.jpg
2020-10-22T08:24:54-06:00
Varghese Summersett PLLC
Varghese Summersett PLLC