Menu

By Benson Varghese

Last Updated: April 23rd, 2020 at 7:18 PM
Published on: November 16th, 2013 at 9:55 AM

Incest is illegal in Texas, even among consenting adults. In fact, it’s a felony that can land you in jail for up to 20 yeas. If you are facing charges for incest or prohibited sexual conduct in Fort Worth, it’s imperative to contact our legal team to discuss your rights and options.

What is Incest?

Incest, also referred to as prohibited sexual conduct, is  laid out in Penal Code Section 25.02.  A person commits incest if he or engages in sexual intercourse  or deviate sexual intercourse with:

  • an ancestor or descendant by blood or adoption;
  • a current or former stepchild or stepparent;
  • a parent’s brother or sister of the whole or half blood;
  • a brother or sister of the whole or half blood or by adoption;
  • the children of the actor’s brother or sister of the whole or half blood or by adoption
  • the son or daughter of the actor’s aunt or uncle of the whole or half blood or by adoption

To simply, sex is prohibited between parents and children; stepparents and stepchildren; siblings, including half-siblings; aunt or uncle and niece or nephew; and first-cousins, among others. Sexual conduct is prohibited even among consenting adults. Also, it doesn’t matter if they are related by blood, either full or half, or by adoption. It’s illegal all the same.

Texas defines “sexual intercourse” as penetration of the female sex organ by the male sex organ. “Deviate sexual intercourse” includes any contact between the genitals of one person with the mouth or anus of another person, provided the intent of the conduct is to arouse or provide sexual gratification.

What is the punishment for Incest?

The most serious prohibited sexual conduct is sex with a parent or child (even with an adult child). The incest is a second-degree felony, punishable by two to 20 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine can also be imposed.

When the sexual conduct is not between a parent and child, but between other covered family members, the offense is a third-degree felony. Third-degree felonies are punishable by two to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

Defending Against Allegations of Incest in Fort Worth

If you are facing charges of incest, call a tenacious and skilled attorney immediately. Our team at Varghese Summersett can help. We will handle your case with the  highest level of discretion and professionalism while seeking the most favorable outcome for all involved.

Charges for Incest in Fort Worth
Incest is illegal in Texas, even among consenting adults. In fact, it's a felony that can land you in jail for up to 20 yeas. If you are facing charges for incest or prohibited sexual conduct in Fort Worth, it's imperative to contact our legal team to discuss your rights and options.

What is Incest?

Incest, also referred to as prohibited sexual conduct, is  laid out in Penal Code Section 25.02.  A person commits incest if he or engages in sexual intercourse  or deviate sexual intercourse with: To simply, sex is prohibited between parents and children; stepparents and stepchildren; siblings, including half-siblings; aunt or uncle and niece or nephew; and first-cousins, among others. Sexual conduct is prohibited even among consenting adults. Also, it doesn't matter if they are related by blood, either full or half, or by adoption. It's illegal all the same. Texas defines "sexual intercourse" as penetration of the female sex organ by the male sex organ. "Deviate sexual intercourse" includes any contact between the genitals of one person with the mouth or anus of another person, provided the intent of the conduct is to arouse or provide sexual gratification.

What is the punishment for Incest?

The most serious prohibited sexual conduct is sex with a parent or child (even with an adult child). The incest is a second-degree felony, punishable by two to 20 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine can also be imposed. When the sexual conduct is not between a parent and child, but between other covered family members, the offense is a third-degree felony. Third-degree felonies are punishable by two to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.

Defending Against Allegations of Incest in Fort Worth

If you are facing charges of incest, call a tenacious and skilled attorney immediately. Our team at Varghese Summersett can help. We will handle your case with the  highest level of discretion and professionalism while seeking the most favorable outcome for all involved.
https://versustexas.com/wp-content/themes/varghesesummer/images/our-team.jpg
2020-04-23T19:18:11-06:00
Varghese Summersett PLLC
Varghese Summersett PLLC