Driving Without a License in Texas | Dallas Criminal Defense

Driving without a License in Texas

In Texas, driving without a license is defined as operating a motor vehicle on a highway without a valid driver’s license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety. This includes situations where an individual has never been issued a license, as well as cases where a license is expired.

Dallas Driving Without a License Attorney, serving Dallas County and surrounding areas

If you’re pulled over by police and cannot produce your valid driver’s license because you don’t have it with you, you’re most likely getting a ticket.Driving w/o a license

What is the penalty for driving without a license in Texas?

You could face serious penalties if you are pulled over without your driver’s license in Dallas. Depending on the circumstances, an officer could issue you a citation, have your car impounded, or, in rare cases, arrest you.

  • First offense: $200 fine
  • Second offense (within a year): It’s a misdemeanor charge and a $200 fine
  • Third offense (within a year): A potential jail sentence from three days to up to six months and a $200 fine.

If you or a family member is facing a repeated driver’s license offense, it’s imperative you contact a Dallas driving without a license attorney.

What are the penalties for driving with a revoked or suspended license in Texas?

Driving While License Suspended (DWLS): This refers to the act of driving when your driver’s license has been temporarily withdrawn by legal authority. This usually happens because the driver has committed certain offenses that led to the suspension, such as accumulating too many points for traffic violations, DUI/DWI offenses, or failing to pay child support.

Driving While License Invalid (DWLI): This is a broader term that includes driving while your license is suspended, but it also covers situations where your license has been revoked, canceled, or disqualified. For example, if your license was canceled because it was obtained fraudulently, or if it was revoked due to serious offenses like vehicular homicide, and you continue to drive, you would be committing DWLI.

Driving with a revoked or suspended license in Texas is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a $500 fine plus an additional fine of $250 a year for three years.

If convicted, your driver’s license will be suspended for an extended period on top of the existing suspension.

A second suspended or revoked license offense is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.

Dallas Driving Without a License

What if I’m involved in a car wreck with a revoked or suspended license in Texas?

If you cause a car accident that results in a serious bodily injury to someone else, you wiull be charged with a Class A misdemeanor.

Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail and $4,000 fine.

Of course, your driver’s license will be suspended for an additional period of time.

Other consequences to consider: If you are involved in a car accident with a suspended or revoked driver’s license, your car will likely be towed and impounded, and you will be responsible for all associated costs.

Once your driver’s license suspension is over, you must carry a Financial Responsibility Insurance Certificate, known as an SR-22.

Before it’s reinstated, you must pay any outstanding fees or fines and a $100 reinstatement fee. An adept Dallas driving without a license attorney will keep their client apprised of any required obligations.

Am I liable in a civil suit if involved in a car accident without a license in Texas?

If you’re involved in a car accident and don’t have your license on your person or are driving with a suspended license, you’re not automatically liable for civil penalties.

The other party, however, could use this information against you in court in an effort to paint you as less reliable.

A judge or jury will ultimately decide who was at fault and determine if the lack of license is factored into their verdict.

The potential for a civil suit is why it’s important to consult with a respected Dallas driving without a license attorney.

What should I do if I’m pulled over without my driver’s license in Dallas?

If the police pull you over without your driver’s license, it’s not the end of the world.

Give the officer your auto registration and proof of insurance, and calmly explain where your valid license is. Don’t engage in an argument with the officer. That will only hurt your chances of receiving a warning instead of a citation.

When possible, consult with an experienced Dallas defense attorney as soon as possible.

How long do you have to get a new license in texas?

How long do new Texas residents have to obtain a Texas driver’s license?

New Texas residents have up to 90 days to acquire a valid Texas driver’s license. Beyond that time frame, an officer could cite you for a violation and $200 fine.

New residents can legally drive with a valid, unexpired driver’s license from another state, U.S. territory, Canadian province, or qualifying country for up to 90 days after moving to Texas.

Before the 90-day grace period expires, new Texas residents must apply for a Texas license in person at any driver’s license office.

At the time of application, the resident must surrender their unexpired license in their possession from out of state.

What is the driving privilege reciprocity in Texas?

Driving privilege reciprocity allows drivers to use valid, unexpired foreign licenses to operate a motor vehicle in Texas for up to a year or until the person becomes a resident, whichever happens first.

Once a person becomes a Texas resident, they are required to apply for a Texas driver’s license within 90 days to drive legally.

The stakes are high. Hire the best lawyers.

Facing a driving without a license offense in Dallas? Call us.

Were you cited for driving without a license? Did you receive a ticket for driving with a suspended or revoked license?

Call Varghese Summersett to speak with our Dallas driving without a license attorney.

During a free consultation, we’ll explain the charges you’re facing and the potential penalties and discuss possible defense strategies.

Call us at 214-903-4000.

Close Icon