Table of Contents
Tarrant County is “No Refusal” all the time.
In October 2020, officials announced that “No Refusal” program is in effect year-round.
In the past, these initiatives were usually held for several days over holiday periods, including Fourth of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years, in an effort to deter drunken driving. During this specified time periods, law enforcement agencies implemented resources that allowed them to get warrants to quickly draw blood from suspected drunk drivers who refuse to give a breath or blood sample. Prosecutors widely supported these efforts for the deterrent effect “No Refusal” weekends in Fort Worth have on drinking and driving.
Now that it’s in effect year-round, every day is a ‘No Refusal’ in Tarrant County. Find out what this means.
While the name of the initiative may lead you to believe that drivers do not have the right to refuse a breath or blood test, that is not the case. “No Refusal” actually means that a refusal won’t keep an officer from getting a warrant to obtain your blood. You can (and should) still refuse.
Generally, anytime you are pulled over for suspicion of driving while intoxicated, an officer will ask you to take field sobriety tests and/or submit to a breath or blood test. Your options are to either consent or refuse all of those tests. If you consent, the officer proceeds with the tests. However, if you refuse the tests, the officer must obtain a search warrant if he wants to get a sample of your blood. This is true every day of the year.
The point of “No Refusal” is to put everyone on high alert that officers are watching for drunken drivers. The purpose is to discourage anyone who has been drinking from getting behind the wheel. But this does not mean you cannot refuse. Be aware that if an officer detects an odor of alcohol on your breath, he is likely to ask you to do field sobriety tests, which is likely going to lead to an arrest. Just because you have had a drink, does not mean you are intoxicated. It is legal to drive in Texas after you have been drinking, as long as you are not intoxicated. Yet, at the arrest stage, the officer is only trying to develop probable cause for the arrest. The question at that moment is not whether there is proof beyond a reasonable doubt that you are actually guilty.
Do not consent to a breath or blood test if you have been pulled over for suspected drunk driving. It’s important to understand that if you refuse to take a breath or blood test in Texas, an officer must obtain a search warrant to obtain a breath or blood test.
From a defense perspective, there are a couple of reasons why you should not consent:
Politely decline. The prudent course of action is to politely decline field sobriety tests and any alcohol evaluations. Be sure to remain calm, polite, and compliant to any court order that requires blood to be drawn. Texas law does not make it a separate offense for refusing to take such tests. If you refuse a test, your license will be suspended for a minimum of 180 days, but you will not be subject to punishment for an offense solely for refusing to submit to testing. If you provide a sample and it shows a Blood Alcohol Concentration of above .08, your license will be suspended for 90 days. Your attorney will be able to assist you in getting an Occupational License if necessary after first fighting the suspension at an ALR hearing.
The best course of action is not to drink and drive. However, if you are stopped after you’ve had a drink, you still can and should refuse to provide a breath or blood specimen.