Menu

Video: What is a Repeat Offender Under Texas Criminal Law?

By Benson Varghese

Criminal defense attorney Anna Summersett, a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist, discusses the “Repeat Offender” enhancement under Texas law in this short video.

A repeat offender notice is one of those circumstances where an individual has previously been convicted of a felony offense and sentenced to penitentiary time. It does require them to actually serve time in the penitentiary as opposed to something like a shock probation or possibly a state jail time. If somebody is a repeat offender, it will generally increase their punishment range by one degree. For example, if we’re looking at a third-degree felony, and you have a repeat offender notice, you’re then going to be looking at a second-degree felony range of punishment. However, once we get up to a first-degree felony range, if you are a repeat offender, your minimum jumps from a five-year to a 15-year minimum, again with your maximum being 99 years or life.

Contact Us

Call us at (817) 203-2220 for a complimentary strategy session. Our team of former prosecutors and Board Certified Criminal Lawyers are here to help. During this call we will:

  • Discuss the facts of your case;
  • Discuss the legal issues involved, including the direct and collateral consequences of the allegation; and
  • Discuss the defenses that apply to your plan and in general terms discuss our approach to your case.

You can also contact us online.

Video: What is a Repeat Offender Under Texas Criminal Law?
Criminal defense attorney Anna Summersett, a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist, discusses the "Repeat Offender" enhancement under Texas law in this short video. https://youtu.be/dljyEzRHBQw

A repeat offender notice is one of those circumstances where an individual has previously been convicted of a felony offense and sentenced to penitentiary time. It does require them to actually serve time in the penitentiary as opposed to something like a shock probation or possibly a state jail time. If somebody is a repeat offender, it will generally increase their punishment range by one degree. For example, if we're looking at a third-degree felony, and you have a repeat offender notice, you're then going to be looking at a second-degree felony range of punishment. However, once we get up to a first-degree felony range, if you are a repeat offender, your minimum jumps from a five-year to a 15-year minimum, again with your maximum being 99 years or life.

Contact Us

Call us at (817) 203-2220 for a complimentary strategy session. Our team of former prosecutors and Board Certified Criminal Lawyers are here to help. During this call we will: You can also contact us online.
https://versustexas.com/wp-content/themes/varghesesummer/images/our-team.jpg
2020-05-20T18:38:06+00:00
Varghese Summersett PLLC
Varghese Summersett PLLC