By Benson Varghese

Last Updated: December 7th, 2020 at 8:08 AM
Published on: December 7th, 2020 at 7:58 AM

Indecency with a Child in Texas

Indecency with a Child is a serious felony offense in Texas. It can be found in Texas Penal Code Section 21.11. which covers both Indecency with a Child by Exposure and Indecency with a Child by Contact.

Who is a minor in Texas for purposes of Indecency with a Child?

A child is someone under the age of 17 in Texas. Texas law allows accusations of Indecency with a Child to be brought without any evidence the accused knew the age of the alleged victim.

What’s the difference between Indecency with a Child by Contact and Indecency with a Child by Exposure in Texas?

Indecency by Contact Indecency by Exposure
Mental StateIntent to gratify the sexual desire of any personIntent to gratify the sexual desire of any person
ActThe person sexual contacts, or causes the minor to sexually contact themExposure of the anus or genitals to the minor, or of the minor
Includes Touching through the clothing of breast, anus, or genitalsExposure of any part of the genitals
PunishmentThird Degree (2-10 years and up to $10,000 fine)Second Degree (2-20 years and up to $10,000 fine)
Does Not RequirePenetration of any typeContact of any type
Does Not RequirePhysical evidence, or any other witnessPhysical evidence, or any other witness
Sex Offender RegistrationLifetime10 years

What is considered indecency with a child?

Any exposure of the anus or genitals to or of a minor for sexual gratification is indecency by exposure. Any contact with or to the anus, genitals, or breast of a minor that is not penetration (which would be sexual assault) for sexual gratification is indecency by contact in Texas. This is also referred to as Indecency-Fondling.

What is the statute of limitations for indecency with a child in Texas?

There is no statute of limitations for Indecency by Contact or Indecency by Exposure in Texas.

How many years do you get for indecent exposure?

Indecency by Exposure is punishable by up to 10 years in prison. Indecency by Contact is punishable by up to 20 years in prison.

Does Indecency with a Child require registration as a sex offender in Texas?

Yes. Indecency with a child by contact in Texas requires lifetime registration as a sex offender. Indecency with a child by exposure requires 10 years of registration as a sex offender.

Facing Accusations? Contact Us.

If you or a loved one if facing a child sex allegation, it’s imperative that you contact an skilled attorney who is skilled at handling these type of cases immediately. We can help. Our team has vast experience handling child sex allegations and a proven record of results. Call today for a free consultation.

 

Indecency with a Child by Exposure Texas Penal Code

Indecency with a Child in Texas

Indecency with a Child is a serious felony offense in Texas. It can be found in Texas Penal Code Section 21.11. which covers both Indecency with a Child by Exposure and Indecency with a Child by Contact.

Who is a minor in Texas for purposes of Indecency with a Child?

A child is someone under the age of 17 in Texas. Texas law allows accusations of Indecency with a Child to be brought without any evidence the accused knew the age of the alleged victim.

What's the difference between Indecency with a Child by Contact and Indecency with a Child by Exposure in Texas?

Indecency by Contact Indecency by Exposure
Mental StateIntent to gratify the sexual desire of any personIntent to gratify the sexual desire of any person
ActThe person sexual contacts, or causes the minor to sexually contact themExposure of the anus or genitals to the minor, or of the minor
Includes Touching through the clothing of breast, anus, or genitalsExposure of any part of the genitals
PunishmentThird Degree (2-10 years and up to $10,000 fine)Second Degree (2-20 years and up to $10,000 fine)
Does Not RequirePenetration of any typeContact of any type
Does Not RequirePhysical evidence, or any other witnessPhysical evidence, or any other witness
Sex Offender RegistrationLifetime10 years

What is considered indecency with a child?

Any exposure of the anus or genitals to or of a minor for sexual gratification is indecency by exposure. Any contact with or to the anus, genitals, or breast of a minor that is not penetration (which would be sexual assault) for sexual gratification is indecency by contact in Texas. This is also referred to as Indecency-Fondling.

What is the statute of limitations for indecency with a child in Texas?

There is no statute of limitations for Indecency by Contact or Indecency by Exposure in Texas.

How many years do you get for indecent exposure?

Indecency by Exposure is punishable by up to 10 years in prison. Indecency by Contact is punishable by up to 20 years in prison.

Does Indecency with a Child require registration as a sex offender in Texas?

Yes. Indecency with a child by contact in Texas requires lifetime registration as a sex offender. Indecency with a child by exposure requires 10 years of registration as a sex offender.

Facing Accusations? Contact Us.

If you or a loved one if facing a child sex allegation, it's imperative that you contact an skilled attorney who is skilled at handling these type of cases immediately. We can help. Our team has vast experience handling child sex allegations and a proven record of results. Call today for a free consultation.  
https://versustexas.com/wp-content/themes/varghesesummer/images/our-team.jpg
2020-12-07T08:08:56-06:00
Varghese Summersett PLLC
Varghese Summersett PLLC