Table of Contents
If you were recently arrested on an accusation of theft, the consequences you face can vary widely depending on the circumstances. The monetary value of the stolen property or funds will dictate the level of offense. Starting at a misdemeanor, charges can quickly become felonies.
To understand the charge and achieve a favorable resolution to your case, it’s important to seek help from one of our seasoned Grapevine theft lawyers. With qualified criminal defense attorneys by your side, you’ll have a better chance of mitigating or even eliminating the punishments and sanctions you face. Our team has handled thousands of cases, and we are prepared to assist you in every way we can.
Theft of property and services valued at less than $2,500 total are generally charged as a misdemeanor offense in Texas criminal courts. Even a misdemeanor charge of theft carries a considerable social stigma. You should still retain a Grapevine theft attorneys to achieve the most favorable outcome.
Under Texas Penal Code Section 31.03, theft of a single item or multiple items worth less than $100 in total is a class C misdemeanor offense. If you are convicted of this offense, you may face a fine of up to $500, but you would likely not receive any jail time.
However, theft of items or services valued at between $100 and $750 is a class B misdemeanor punishable by as much as 180 days in jail and a maximum $2,000 fine. Likewise, Class A misdemeanor theft — which entails theft of goods or services valued at between $750 and $2,500 — can be punished by a maximum of one year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
If you are convicted of stealing more than $2,500 worth of goods and services at one time, the charge would be upgraded to a felony offence. If the value of goods or services stolen is more than $2,500 but less than $30,000, or if any firearm or livestock of any value is stolen, the offense would be a state jail felony that could be punished with between 180 days and two years in state jail, in addition to a possible $10,000 fine.
Thefts between $30,000 and $200,000 in value are third-degree felony offenses, punishable by two to 10 years in prison.
Finally, first-degree felony theft of anything valued above $300,000 is punishable by a minimum sentence of five years in prison and a maximum sentence of 99 years. If you are charged with any degree of felony theft offense, you should contact our team of lawyers in Grapevine as soon as possible so we can begin structuring a potential defense strategy.
Depending on the amount you are accused of stealing, the nature of the theft charges you face in a Texas criminal court could vary widely. That’s why you need an attorney experienced with all levels of theft cases in Texas to successfully pursue a positive outcome. We can help.
A Grapevine theft lawyer from Varghese Summersett can work with you to identify the best course of action for your case and advocate for your rights. To set up an initial consultation at absolutely no cost to you, call our office today.