Grapevine Solicitation Lawyer
Criminal solicitation refers to when a person asks, persuades, instructs, or pays someone to commit a first degree or capital offense. The most common example of criminal solicitation is a charge for hiring a hit man.
A conviction for solicitation can result in prison time, significant fines, and other legal penalties. If you have been arrested and charged with solicitation, our Grapevine solicitation lawyers can provide you more information about your legal rights and how to fight your charges best. By speaking with our compassionate defense attorneys, you improve your chances of a successful resolution.
What is Solicitation?
Texas Penal Code Section 15.03 defines solicitation. It is unlawful for a person to direct, hire, or attempt to induce another person to carry out a first degree or capital felony. Criminal solicitation is categorized either as a first or second-degree felony offense, depending on the underlying crime that was allegedly solicited.
What is Solicitation of Prostitution?
Texas Penal Code Section 43.02 defines prostitution and the solicitation of prostitution. Under this statute, it is a criminal offense to solicit another individual for sexual activity in exchange for something of value. If you have been charged with criminal solicitation or solicitation of a prostitute, you need to reach out to our Grapevine attorneys about protecting your legal rights.
Legal Punishments for Solicitation of Prostitution
For a first-time conviction for soliciting a prostitute, the offense is charged as a Class B misdemeanor. You can be ordered to spend a maximum of 180 days in jail, in addition to paying a financial penalty not to exceed $2,000. If you have been convicted of solicitation once or twice before, the crime is a Class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are prosecutable by up to 12 months incarceration, plus fines.
Any individual who is charged with solicitation of prostitution and has been convicted of a prostitution-related offense three times already will be charged with a state jail felony. Felony crimes carry much higher penalties than misdemeanor offenses. In Texas, a state jail felony means up to two years incarceration. The court can order you to pay a maximum fine amount of $10,000 as well.
In situations involving aggravating factors, such as the alleged solicitation of a minor, the charge will be a second-degree felony, accompanied by a maximum prison term of 20 years, and a financial penalty no greater than $10,000. Even a conviction for a misdemeanor solicitation charge can result in considerable financial penalties and jail time. When enhancing factors or previous convictions are involved, there is a high likelihood that the alleged offense will be charged as a felony.
You will need aggressive legal defense from our Grapevine solicitation attorneys. Our lawyers can assist you in seeking a reduction, or in some cases, even a dismissal of the prosecution’s charges.
Call a Grapevine Solicitation Attorney Right Away
If you have questions or concerns about your legal rights, it is best to call a Grapevine solicitation lawyer with Varghese Summersett about your case. Our attorneys can give you a thorough overview of your legal rights and the most effective defense options for your situation. Contact us to arrange your free case consultation today.