Grapevine Gun Lawyer
Texas has specific laws regarding who can legally carry a firearm in the state and where possessing a gun is strictly forbidden. Even with a license to carry, a regular citizen cannot bring a gun onto the grounds of schools, courthouses, voting locations, or an airport. If you have been charged with a firearm-related offense, it’s imperative to contact a Grapevine gun lawyer immediately. Our lawyers are skilled in defending gun cases and can provide aggressive and skilled legal representation if you are facing firearms charges. We are relentless in our efforts on your behalf to seek a possible reduction or dismissal of the charges against you.
What Are Common Firearms Charges?
There are several common types of firearms charges in Grapevine for which you will need skilled representation, including:
- unlawful possession of a firearm;
- unlawful carrying of a weapon;
- reckless discharge of a firearm;
- and unlawful possession of a firearm by a felon.
What are Common Firearm Charge Punishments?
Unlawful possession of a firearm makes it illegal for anyone who has been found guilty of a felony offense to own a firearm, and can lead to third-degree felony charges punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a maximum $10,000 fine.
Another common charge is reckless discharge of a firearm. If the discharge of a firearm was in city with a population over 100,000, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail. Another offense we defend on a regular basis is carrying a firearm at a prohibited location, such as a courthouse or at an airport which can result in third-degree felony charges.
Grapevine Gun Licensing Laws
In Texas, specific legal criteria must be met if you wish to purchase a firearm from an authorized seller and obtain a license to carry. This includes being 21 years old, legally residing in the state, completing a criminal background check. Individuals who are 18 may obtain a carry license in limited circumstances, such as those in the U.S. military. Applicants for a license to carry must also complete an education course before a license to carry can be issued.
State law prohibits individuals who have been convicted of certain crimes or are of a specific legal status to obtain a license to carry. For example, felons are strictly barred from owning a gun. Even if the firearm is unloaded, if you have been convicted of a felony in the past and are caught with a gun, you can be charged with unlawful firearm possession. An exception applies to having a firearm in your home or in your car, if at least five years have passed since the date the felony sentence was discharged. There are very limited situations in which convicted felons can have their gun ownership rights restored through the pardon process.
Individuals who have been dishonorably dismissed from the military and illegal aliens are also prohibited from possessing a firearm. If you have been charged with unlawful possession of a firearm or another gun offense, you should reach out to our Grapevine attorneys today for legal assistance.
Speak with a Grapevine Gun Attorney Today
If you are facing a gun charge, don’t delay contacting our Grapevine lawyers. The sooner you contact us, the sooner we can begin working on your case. Call today to learn more information about the legal process and advice regarding the best defense strategy moving forward. To schedule your free consultation with one of our qualified attorneys, call the office of Varghese Summersett today.