Assault charges in Texas can be complicated. There are different degrees of assault defined under state law, each with unique qualifying criteria and associated penalties.
In order to achieve a positive outcome on an assault case, it’s important to get help from an experienced Grapevine assault lawyer. A skilled assault attorney will help you understand the exact nature of your charges, the implications a conviction can have on your freedom and future, and your best options going forward.
Misdemeanor Assault in Grapevine
In Texas, assault is defined under Texas Penal Code 22.01 as:
- intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing bodily injury to another person, including the person’s spouse;
- intentionally or knowingly threatening another person with imminent bodily injury; or
- intentionally or knowingly causing “offensive or provocative” physical contact with another person.
What is the Punishment for Misdemeanor Assault?
The punishment for misdemeanor assault depends on the facts and circumstances of the case.
- For example, if the assault involved solely a threat of harm or offensive bodily contact, such as spitting on a person, it is a class C misdemeanor punishable by no more than a $500 fine upon conviction.
- If there is an offensive contact by a non-participant against a participant in a sports performance or in response to a performance, (attacking a player or coach) it a class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to180 days in jail and $2,000 fine.
- If the offensive contact involved an elderly person, it is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in jail and a $4,000 fine.
- Any general assault that causes bodily injury (but not serious bodily injury) is a Class A misdemeanor.
Regardless of the level of assault charge, it’s wise to retain a Grapevine assault attorneys as soon as possible after your arrest in an effort to keep your record clean and avoid collateral consequences.
When Does Assault Become a Felony Offense?
In Texas, an assault becomes a felony – and is considered aggravated assault – if it results in serious bodily injury or involves a deadly weapon. Aggravated assault is generally a second-degree felony offense in Grapevine, punishable by two to 20 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
If aggravated assault is committed against an intimate partner, public servant, security guard, or witness to a crime, the penalty range is elevated to a first-degree felony, punishable by up to life in prison and a $10,000 fine.
If you are facing felony assault charge, our qualified team of assault lawyers in Grapevine can work to mitigate these sanctions. We collectively have over 100 years of experience working on cases just like yours and are prepared to assist you any way we can.
Discuss Legal Options with a Grapevine Assault Attorney
You shouldn’t take any level of assault charge lightly. Repeated offenses can result in more severe penalties over time, and even one misdemeanor conviction on your record could significantly limit your educational, occupational, and personal opportunities.
With a seasoned Grapevine assault lawyer by your side, you will increase your chances of a favorable outcome. We will construct a solid legal defense and ensure your rights are upheld at every stage of the process. Call Varghese Summersett today to schedule your free initial consultation.